Sleepy Leadership Elections for Pa. House & Senate

Leadership of the Pa. Senate, current session

The election is past, and the next campaigns have begun. Incoming members of the House and Senate will spend Tuesday and Wednesday choosing their party leaders for next year.

But unlike previous years, when drastic shifts in party control have resulted in intra-party fights for control of several caucuses, this year is shaping up to be, well, boring.

Democrats and Republicans in the Pa. House vote on their leadership this afternoon; Senate caucuses vote Wednesday.

In addition to other perks, positions in leadership correspond with a higher salary and better pension benefits.

House Democrats

This is the caucus expected to see the most change – not because of challenges, but because of retirements.

Minority Leader Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny), Democratic Whip Mike Hanna (D-Clinton), Caucus Chairman Dan Frankel (D-Allegheny), Appropriations Committee Chairman Joe Markosek (D-Allegheny), and Policy Committee Chairman Mike Sturla (D-Lancaster) are all cruising to re-election.

Caucus Secretary: Ron Waters (D-Phila). With the retirement of Rep. Jennifer Mann (D-Lehigh), this position has come open. The existing western Pa. leadership is hoping to expand and solidify their coalition with the addition of its first member from the Philly delegation and the chairman of the House Black Caucus.

Caucus Administrator: Neal Goodman (D-Schuylkill). With Rep. Ron Buxton (D-Dauphin) retiring, the leadership team is bringing the northeast Pa. contingent into their coalition.

House Republicans

The House Rs voted Tuesday morning and all leadership positions remained the same:

House Speaker Sam Smith (R-Jefferson), Majority Leader Mike Turzai (R-Allegheny), Republican Whip Stan Saylor (R-York), Caucus Chair Sandra Major (R-Susquehanna), Caucus Secretary Mike Vereb (R-Montco), Appropriations Chair Bill Adolph (R-Delaware), Caucus Administrator Dick Stevenson (R-Mercer), and Policy Committee Chair Dave Reed (R-Indiana).

Senate Democrats

Coming off of their best election cycle in 40 years, the Senate Dem leadership remains solid. All leaders are expected to stay on.

Minority Leader Jay Costa (D-Allegheny), Democratic Whip Tony Williams (D-Phila), Caucus Chair Rich Kasunic (D-Fayette), Caucus Secretary Tina Tartaglione (D-Phila), Appropriations Chair Vincent Hughes (D-Phila), Caucus Administrator Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny) and Policy Committee Chair Lisa Boscola (D-Northampton).

Senate Republicans

Tomorrow is shaping up to be quiet for the Senate Rs, too. All are expected to keep their positions.

President Pro Tempore Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson), Majority Leader Dominic Pileggi (R-Delaware), Republican Whip Pat Browne (R-Lehigh), Caucus Chairman Mike Waugh (R-York), Caucus Secretary Bob Robbins (R-Mercer), Appropriations Chairman Jake Corman (R-Centre), Caucus Administrator John Gordner (R-Columbia) and Policy Committee Chair Ted Erickson (R-Delaware).

A rumor that Corman is soliciting votes to challenge Pileggi isn’t true, says a source close to Corman.

November 13th, 2012 | Posted in Front Page Stories, Harrisburg, Top Stories | 2 Comments

2 thoughts on “Sleepy Leadership Elections for Pa. House & Senate”

  1. catherine says:

    It is time for the citizens of PA gget totally pissed off with the obstruction of government operations. Partisan, child like games with the budget process. The games played by republicans with the budget is appalling. Their actions or lack thereof impacted programs specific to low income families.
    I hope each and every person affected by their lack of leadership remember that the local food pantry was forced to borrow money so that they could continue serving the needs of the poor. Shameful practice by the same people you elected to protect you.

  2. David Diano says:

    Senate Dems should elect Daylin their island king and have luau’s on Thursdays.

Got Something To Say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *