Close this search box.

8 GOP House Members Object to Counting PA’s Electoral College Votes

Just hours after President Donald Trump held a rally falsely claiming that the election was stolen and after rioters stormed the Capitol, eight members of Pennsylvania’s congressional delegation, all Republican, voted to object to counting Pennsylvania’s electoral votes for President-elect Joe Biden. 

“Sadly, but resolutely, I object to the electoral votes of my beloved commonwealth of Pennsylvania on the grounds of multiple constitutional infractions that they were not under all of the known circumstances regularly given,” said Rep. Scott Perry (R-York), who voiced the initial objection to counting the state’s electoral votes

Perry was later joined by Reps. John Joyce (R-Blair), Fred Keller (R-Snyder), Mike Kelly (R-Butler), Dan Meuser (R-Luzerne), Guy Reschenthaler (R-Allegheny), Reps. G.T. Thompson (R-Centre), and Lloyd Smucker (R-Lancaster) in voting to object to the state’s electoral votes. 

The lone Republican of the states congressional delegation to support certifying the state’s electoral votes for Biden was Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Bucks). 

Since Trump’s defeat, Republicans in the state have filed several lawsuits attempting to declare Act 77, passed by the state legislature, as unconstitutional. The courts have ruled against them. 

The effort from Perry plus the other 7 members of the state’s congressional delegation was unsuccessful. 138 House members, all Republican, voted to object to counting the state’s electoral votes, while 282 members voted to oppose their effort. 

Pennsylvania Democrats were united in ensuring that the electoral votes would count for the state. 

Rep. Conor Lamb’s (D-Allegheny) speech went viral as tensions began to flare during his address. 

“To do this with any kind of honesty means admitting and declaring in this House that these objections don’t deserve an ounce of respect,” Lamb said, about the GOP effort to block Biden’s victory. “Not an ounce.” 

Sens. Bob Casey (D) and Pat Toomey (R) were also united in opposing the push to block Biden from being awarded the electoral votes in Pennsylvania. 

“I rise tonight to defend the people of the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, to defend the more than 6.9 million voters who voted in this election,” Casey said. “And to condemn in the strongest possible terms this attempt to disenfranchise the voters of Pennsylvania based upon a lie. A falsehood.” 

“That same lie sowed the seeds of today’s violence and today’s lawlessness here in the Capitol,” Casey continued.

“Mr. President, Joe Biden won the election,” Toomey said, who endorsed Trump for president. “It’s not what I hoped for, but that’s what happened.” 

“It was an honest victory,” Toomey added. 

“We witnessed today the damage that can result when men in power and responsibility refuse to acknowledge the truth,” Toomey continued. “We saw bloodshed because a demagogue chose to spread falsehoods and sow distrust of his own fellow Americans. Let’s not abet such deception.” 

Only 7 Senators, all Republican, voted to object to awarding the Electors for Biden in Pennsylvania, while the rest of the chamber voted against this attempt. 

Reps. Joyce, Kelly, Perry and Reschenthaler also voted to object to Arizona’s electors being awarded to Biden, while the 14 other members of the state’s congressional delegation opposed the effort to stop the electors from going to Biden.

10 Responses

  1. Why are these Traitors not in Jail? Hanging is too good for them. If I ever see Perry in person, he won’t be smiling after.

    1. You could ask him for a meeting, if you are that motivated.

      My guess is, despite his stupid position on this issue, he would beat you down pretty soundly.

      Fair warning.

  2. None of them should be seated! How do the votes count for their races on the exact same ballot as Biden? And Senator Saccone who went to the Capitol isn’t facing any consequences because Corman is part of the sedition caucus now!?

  3. These 8 assholes should be removed from congress, charged with sedition, and rot in jail.

  4. Just reprinting here before I spread it ALL over social media. There are the Seditionists:
    John Joyce (R-Blair), Fred Keller (R-Snyder), Mike Kelly (R-Butler), Dan Meuser (R-Luzerne), Guy Reschenthaler (R-Allegheny), Reps. G.T. Thompson (R-Centre), and Lloyd Smucker (R-Dumfukistan)

  5. Each and every one of these Lying A-holes should be charged with the Felony of Sedition. Not a scrap of integrity in any of them. I WILL be contributing to their defeat – as well as State Sen. Mastriano, who invaded the Capitol in DC. These Worms have no idea how famous they are about to become. OR or underfunded they will be vis a vis anyone who opposes them in their next primary or general. Their political careers are OVER.

  6. My “congressman”, Dan Meuser, voted to disenfranchise me and everybody else in Pennsylvania. Meuser is a Trump Fascist who should be in prison, not in Congress.

  7. Only One republican from PA did not Representative Brian Fitzpatrick. The rest are seditious traitors to the people of PA and the USA

  8. Christopher Krebs, Trump Administration’s Cyber Security Chieftain, gave his complete endorsement for the election’s fairness but these politicians would rather play politics.

  • Do you agree that ByteDance should be forced to divest TikTok?

    • Yes. It's a national security risk. (60%)
    • No. It's an app used by millions and poses no threat. (40%)
    • What's ByteDance? (0%)

    Total Voters: 30

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen