Close this search box.

Cruz Releases PA Delegate Slate

CruzThe real battle on the GOP side in the April 26th primary will be at the bottom of the ballot.

That’s because of the unique way Pennsylvania allocates its 71 delegates in the Republican primary.

The statewide winner of the popular vote gets only 17 of these delegates, while the other 54 are elected by congressional district (three delegates for all eighteen seats). Importantly, though, PA is one of the only states where delegates are directly elected and don’t have to state a preference beforehand.

As a result, a down-ballot race that most voters don’t understand or notice will yield 54 delegates to the Republican National Convention that can vote for anybody. Since the question right now is whether GOP front-runner Donald Trump will reach the 1,237 threshold before the convention these delegates could prove vital.

Therefore, the Ted Cruz campaign is doing their best to assemble their own slate of delegates and let their supporters know who to vote for. The list of Cruz delegates is presented below:

Aldridk Gessa – 2nd Congressional District

Marilyn S Gillispie – 4th Congressional District

Richard J Chura Jr. – 5th Congressional District

Barry K Kroeker 5th Congressional District

Lyle Stewart – 5th Congressional District

Mary Elizabeth Wert – 6th Congressional District

Robert A Wert – 6th Congressional District

Deborah A Evangelou – 8th Congressional District

Lois M Kaneshiki – 9th Congressional District

Clayton David Show – 9th Congressional District

Elizabeth Greenaway – 10th Congressional District

Carol H Drewniak – 11th Congressional District

Jeffrey TT Haste – 11th Congressional District

Lowman S Henry – 11th Congressional District

J Daniel Mosel – 11th Congressional District

Thomas James Pyne – 11th Congressional District

Lawrence M Borland – 12th Congressional District

Bruce Keeler – 12th Congressional District

George F Steigerwalt – 12th Congressional District

Michael J McMonagle – 13th Congressional District

Dean N Browning – 15th Congressional District

Malcolm C Cole II – 15th Congressional District

Mark S Hoffman – 15th Congressional District

Christian Y Leinbach – 15th Congressional District

Douglas W Brubaker – 16th Congressional District

Ronald L Boltz – 17th Congressional District

James R. Means Jr. – 18th Congressional District

Sue Ann Means – 18th Congressional District

It’s worth pointing that the Cruz campaign has been by far the most skilled campaign when it comes to delegate selection (to the point that Trump has openly complained). So if the most organized team has just 28 candidates in fourteen districts, and only a full slate in three districts, it suggests that many of these delegates will remain up for grabs.

53 Responses

    Unit Rule
    No delegate or alternate delegate shall be bound by any attempt of any state or Congressional district to impose the unit
    rule. A “unit rule” prohibited by this section means a rule or law under which a delegation at the national convention casts its
    entire vote as a unit as determined by a majority vote of the delegation.
    Given these circumstances, now is the time to study the nomination process, especially the Rules of the Republican Party.
    To the casual observer, primary elections will determine the nominee. However, a trained observer will note that the delegates to the Republican National Convention actually choose the nominee.
    The Progressive Movement in the United States has championed primary elections as the way to take the power to choose candidates for public office away from “political machines”(AKA political parties) and vest that authority in the general public voters in primary elections.
    With the clever use of terms like “party bosses” to denigrate the members of political parties, and “political machines” to likewise create an unfavorable view of political parties, and labeling convention halls as the “smoke filled rooms” where the “back room deals” are made to select the party nominee in their “brokered” conventions, Progressives in both the Democratic and Republican parties, in collaboration with the media, and an out of control political industry that feasts on the massive spending now common to primary elections, have nearly succeeded in giving the primary system complete control over party nominations.
    …the Republican Party of the United States is not a seamless, perpetual institution. Rather, it is a series of successive authorizations of its quadrennial convention of delegates.
    The final tool necessary to accomplish the Progressive goal of democratizing the Presidential nomination process, is the “binding” of the delegates to each major party’s national convention, forcing each delegate’s vote to be cast on their behalf according to the results of the public vote in primary elections.
    How Democrats handle “binding”, or the forced voting of delegates, based on primary voters choices, is of no consequence in this discussion since each party is free to make their own rules.
    But the Republican Party, since its establishment in 1854, continues to operate as a private unincorporated association of individuals that has established its quadrennial convention of delegates as the highest and sole authority of the Republican Party. Ted Cruz is the best qualified candidate to be the nominee. He is the only one that can save America! Trump is a liberal/progressive/democrat and shouldn’t have been accepted as a candidate for the GOP.

  2. Where can I find the results for the elected delegates in the PA Republican Primary? Thank you.

  • Do you agree that ByteDance should be forced to divest TikTok?

    • Yes. It's a national security risk. (60%)
    • No. It's an app used by millions and poses no threat. (40%)
    • What's ByteDance? (0%)

    Total Voters: 30

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen