Close this search box.

DNCC Announces Convention Officers

DNCCThe Democratic National Convention Committee has announced those who will preside over the Democratic National Convention as officers.

There was some controversy around at least one of the officers. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz, the former DNC Chair, was originally slated to gavel the convention into session as the temporary chair of the convention.

However, she was replaced by Baltimore Mayor Stephanie Rawlings-Blake due to the controversy surrounding a release of private DNC emails.

Those emails showed that DNC officials were not supportive of Bernie Sanders during the primary season, though there was no evidence that DNC officials took any substantive action against Sanders.

None of the other officers received nearly as much blowback, if any, from pro-Sanders delegates.

The Hillary for America Convention chair is former Attorney General Eric Holder. The permanent convention chair for the rest of the week will be Rep. Marcia Fudge from Ohio. Finally, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi will serve as the honorary convention chair.


Convention Co-Chairs:

U.S. Representative Maxine Waters (California)

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo

Los Angeles County Supervisor Hilda Solis

Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation Norm Mineta

U.S. Senator Gary Peters (Michigan)

Wellington Webb, Former Mayor of Denver


Convention Vice Chairs:

Lilly Ledbetter, a women’s rights activist who filed a lawsuit to get paid an equal amount to her co-workers. In 2009, the Lilly Ledbetter act was the first law President Obama signed in office making it easier for women to file lawsuits for equal pay violations.

Chair of the LPAC Board Laura Ricketts

Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey

Ohio State Representative Alicia Reece

U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill (Missouri), a prominent female member of Congress who has pushed for several women’s rights causes throughout her career.

U.S. Representative Doris Matsui (California)

President of the Human Rights Campaign Chad Griffin

President of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America Doug McCarron

California Secretary of State Alex Padilla

U.S. Representative James Clyburn (South Carolina), He was a former chair of the Congressional Black Caucus.

Mark Pryor, former Senator from Arkansas.

U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal (Connecticut)

Vice President of the Young Democrats of America Louis Elrod



U.S. Representative Steny Hoyer (Maryland), He will serve as the lead parliamentarian and he currently serves as the number two Democrat in the House as minority whip.

Former U.S. Secretary of Labor Alexis Herman

Helen McFadden

Louisiana State Senator Karen Carter Peterson

Harold Ickes

Kevin O’Keefe



U.S. Representative John Lewis (Georgia), Civil Rights leader who was on the front lines during the movement and walked with Martin Luther King Jr.

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin (Wisconsin), First female Senator from Wisconsin and first openly gay Senator in history.

U.S. Representative Sheila Jackson Lee (Texas)

Former Texas Land Commissioner Garry Mauro

Newark Mayor Ras Baraka

President of the Laborers’ International Union of North America Terry O’Sullivan

Finally, Minyon Moore will serve as Doorkeeper and transgender rights advocate Marisa Richmond will be the timekeeper.


  • Does the NYC Verdict Make You More or Less Likely to Vote For Trump in 2024?

    • Less Likely (36%)
    • More Likely (34%)
    • Makes No Difference (30%)

    Total Voters: 112

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen