McClinton Elected House Minority Leader

Democrats in the Pennsylvania state House have elected a new leader and made history in the process. 

On Thursday, Rep. Joanna McClinton (D-Philadelphia) was elected to serve as the House Minority Leader for the upcoming session, replacing Leader Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny), who lost to Republican Carrie DelRosso in his reelection bid for the 33rd House District. 

McClinton’s election is historic as she becomes the first Black woman to ever hold the position in the Pennsylvania state House. 

In addition to McClinton being elected as Minority Leader, Democrats made a few other changes for leadership for the upcoming term. 

Rep. Dan Miller (D-Allegheny) will serve as Minority Caucus Chair, taking over the role previously held by McClinton. Rep. Tina Davis (D-Bucks) will serve as Minority Caucus Secretary, taking over for Rep. Rosita Youngblood (D-Philadelphia), who is retiring at the end of this current term. Rep. Mike Schlossberg (D-Lehigh) will serve as the Minority Caucus Administrator, filling in the position previously held by Rep. Neal Goodman (D-Schuylkill), who is retiring at the end of this current term. Rep. Ryan Bizzarro (D-Erie) will serve as the Democratic Policy Chairman, taking over for Rep. Mike Sturla (D-Lancaster). 

Two Democrats will remain in their current positions in the upcoming term. Minority Whip Jordan Harris (D-Philadelphia) and Minority Appropriations Chairman Matt Bradford (D-Montgomery) will continue serving in their roles in the upcoming session. 

House Republicans elected their leadership committee on Tuesday.

4 Responses

Comments are closed.

  • Reader Poll: Have You Requested a Mail-In Ballot?

    • Yes. I enjoy mail-in voting. (50%)
    • No. I am going to the poll. (50%)

    Total Voters: 121

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen