Close this search box.

Rep. Jason Altmire Unveils List of Democratic Party Officials Who Have Endorsed The Incumbent Congressman

By: Geoffrey Middleberg, Contributing Writer

Rep. Jason Altmire is trying to show that he is the establishment candidate in his congressional primary against Rep. Mark Critz.

To prove the point, Rep. Altmire released a list of more than 70 Democratic officials who support his candidacy.

Some of the elected officials on the list are:

  • State Rep. Dom Costa
  • State Rep. Jaret Gibbons
  • State Rep. Joe Markosek
  • State Rep. Rob Matzie
  • State Rep. Adam Ravenstahl
  • State Rep. Chris Sainato
  • Beaver County Commissioner Tony Amadio
  • Beaver County Commissioner Joe Spanik
  • Lawrence County Commissioner Steve Craig

It is interesting to note where the endorsements come from. Some of the endorsements come from large population centers in the new congressional district such as the Monroeville suburbs and Lower Burrell. The list pulls heavily from the 60-70 percent of the district that Altmire currently represents.

Rep. Critz rolled out his own list of endorsements in December. The core base of support both campaigns have outlined come from their old congressional districts.

Here is the full release:

Ross Township, PA:  Seventy-two Democratic officials from the new 12th Congressional District have come together to endorse U.S. Congressman Jason Altmire in his bid for re-election.

Tony Amadio, Chairman of the Beaver County Board of Commissioners said, “I am not surprised that such a large and diverse group of key Democratic officials has come together to support Congressman Altmire. It shows that throughout the district they know what we in Beaver County have always known – that Jason works hard for us, he’s accessible, and he gets the job done.”

Among the endorsements are Democratic officials from areas new to the redrawn district and not currently represented by Altmire. “Having seen the great work Congressman Altmire has done for his nearby district, I was happy to learn that his new district will now expand into Monroeville. I look forward to working with Jason, and I strongly believe our community will benefit from his leadership,” said Monroeville Mayor Greg Erosenko.

Although 66 percent of the population of the new 12th District are constituents in Altmire’s current district, 27 percent of the population live in areas, like Lower Burrell, that are currently represented by Congressman Mark Critz.

In endorsing Altmire, Lower Burrell Mayor Don Kinosz said, “I proudly endorse Lower Burrell’s native son, Jason Altmire. He has a proven track record of success and has always been popular here. We are excited that his district will now include Lower Burrell, and I look forward to working with him in the years ahead.”

Democratic Officials Endorsing Jason Altmire in the 12th Congressional District

State Representatives
Rep. Dom Costa
Rep. Jaret Gibbons
Rep. Joe Markosek
Rep. Rob Matzie
Rep. Adam Ravenstahl
Rep. Chris Sainato

County Commissioners
Beaver County Commissioner Tony Amadio
Beaver County Commissioner Joe Spanik
Lawrence County Commissioner Steve Craig

Countywide Row Officers

Beaver County
Janice Beall, Recorder of Deeds
Anthony Berosh, District Attorney
Shelley L. Blythe, Jury Commissioner
George David, Sheriff
Judy R. Enslen, Clerk of Courts
Carol Ruckert Fiorucci, Register of Wills
Teri Tatalovich-Rossi, Coroner
Nancy Werme, Prothonotary

Lawrence County
Janet Kalajainen, Register & Recorder
Josh Lamancusa, District Attorney
Helen Morgan, Prothonotary & Clerk of Courts
Perry Quahliero, Sheriff
Richard Rapone, Treasurer

Allegheny County Council
Nicholas Futules
Dr. Charles Martoni, Council President

12th District Mayors
Dwan Walker, Aliquippa
Sam Gagliardi, Baden
Karl Boak, Beaver Falls
Ron Besong, Bell Acres
Don Wachter, Big Beaver
Debbie Giska-Rose, Conway
James Cable, East Rochester
Walt G. Izzo, Eastvale
David Poling, Economy
Tony Court, Ellwood City
Livio Pagani, Fallston
Dale Bonner, Frankfort Springs
Don Zahn, Freedom
Tim McGuire, Homewood
Robert Deiley, Hookstown
Nick Yanosich, Industry
David Mangerie, Koppel
Don Kinosz, Lower Burrell
Angela Adkins, Midland
John Antoline, Monaca
Greg Erosenko, Monroeville
Rick Smith, New Brighton
John Szatkiewicz, Ohioville
Rich Hrivnak, Plum
Sam Scriva, Rochester
Helen Scott, Shippingport
Paul Farkas, West Mayfield
J.R. Henry, West View

County Democratic Chairs
Richard Christofer, Lawrence County Chairman
Dr. Michael Sisk, Beaver County Chairman

Beaver County Town Democratic Chairs
Eugene “Salt” Smith, Aliquippa
Mike Mikulich, Ambridge
Carol Sambol, Baden
Roman Steals, Beaver Falls
Mike Spanik, Brighton
Bill DiCioccio, Jr., Center
Jack Simon, Chippewa
Edwin L. Gerber, Sr., Daugherty
Frank Reda, East Rochester
Gene Roberts, Hanover
Carol Kokoski, Harmony
Chuck Piroli, Hopewell
Mike Rebich, Independence
Raymond Presutti, Midland
Rick Smith, New Brighton
Gayeann Ice, North Sewickley
Steve Kochanowski, Potter
Robert Schmetzer, South Heights

2 Responses

  1. we are ironworkers looking for the endorsed democrats running for office this election season, please respond with a list so that our members can lend their support

  2. I am looking for ambridge, or sewickley democratic party where they sell Obama signs etc. can you tell me where the nearest democratic headquarter is located. thanks 15003

  • Reader Poll: Should President Joe Biden Step Aside?

    • Yes. He should step aside because of his age, declining ability to do the job. (45%)
    • No. He should not step aside. (39%)
    • Yes. He should step aside because he can't beat Donald Trump. (15%)

    Total Voters: 231

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen