House Dems Announce Committee Chairs

Today, House Democratic Minority Leader Frank Dermody (D-Allegheny) announced new minority chairs for the 2019-2020 session.

Some familiar faces will be leading different committees, such as Rep. Joe Petrarca (D-Westmoreland) chairing Children and Youth, who led the Judiciary committee in the previous session.

Here are the minority chairs below.

Aging and Older Adult Services:
Rep. Steve Samuelson, 135th Legislative District, Northampton County.

Agriculture and Rural Affairs:
Rep. Eddie Day Pashinski, 121st Legislative District, Luzerne County.

Children and Youth:
Rep. Joseph Petrarca, 55th Legislative District, Westmoreland, Armstrong and Indiana counties.

Rep. John Galloway, 140th Legislative District, Bucks County.

Consumer Affairs:
Rep. Rob Matzie, 16th Legislative District, Beaver and Allegheny counties.

Rep. James Roebuck, 188th Legislative District, Philadelphia County.

Environmental Resources and Energy:
Rep. Greg Vitali, 166th Legislative District, Delaware and Montgomery counties.

Rep. Jake Wheatley, 19th Legislative District, Allegheny County.

Game and Fisheries:
Rep. William Kortz, 38th Legislative District, Allegheny County.

Gaming Oversight:
Rep. Scott Conklin, 77th Legislative District, Centre County.

Rep. Dan Frankel, 23rd Legislative District, Allegheny County.

Human Services:
Rep. Angel Cruz, 180th Legislative District, Philadelphia County.

Rep. Tony DeLuca, 32nd Legislative District, Allegheny County.

Rep. Tim Briggs, 149th Legislative District, Montgomery County.

Labor and Industry:
Rep. Patrick Harkins, 1st Legislative District, Erie County.

Liquor Control:
Rep. Dan Deasy, 27th Legislative District, Allegheny County.

Local Government:
Rep. Bob Freeman, 136th Legislative District, Northampton County.

Professional Licensure:
Rep. Harry Readshaw, 36th Legislative District, Allegheny County.

State Government:
Rep. Kevin Boyle, 172nd Legislative District, Philadelphia and Montgomery counties.

Tourism and Recreational Development:
Rep. Mark Longietti, 7th Legislative District, Mercer County.

Rep. Mike Carroll, 118th Legislative District, Luzerne and Lackawanna counties.

Urban Affairs:
Rep. Thomas Caltagirone, 127th Legislative District, Berks County.

Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness:
Rep. Christopher Sainato, 9th Legislative District, Lawrence County.

8 Responses

  1. Daryl Metcalfe’s “Don’t touch me” comments lowered the political bar last year. Yet, once more, he chairs a committee and is a solid argument that bipartisanship is a dodge.

  2. Vitali wasn’t going to be on Environmental committee (because he pisses off the leadership by insisting clean air/water are important).

    But, apparently, no one else wanted to chair a committee with Metcalfe.

    If Vitali doesn’t make Metcalfe cry at least once a week, I’ll be disappointed.

    Maybe Greg can explain to Metcalfe that pollution is like someone touching your skin 24/7. 🙂

    1. It was the “Year” of the Woman, not the party of women. Nver has been, really, not in PA.

      1. Both parties assigned these positions on seniority. If PoliticsPA had bothered including the leadership, you would see 2 women Dems [that was a separate press release]. What 6 years while some of the older men age out, and women will hold the majority of Dem chairs.

        1. Committee chairs should not be based on seniority. The should be eldective within each caucus. Bunch of old hidebound hacks in chairs, especially on the D side.

          1. This comment is about as true as your earlier one, claiming Dems are not the party that elected women.

  • Who Will Be Speaker of the PA House on February 28?

    • Joanna McClinton (68%)
    • Mark Rozzi (27%)
    • A Republican TBD (5%)

    Total Voters: 315

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen