Close this search box.

Who’s Who: The Candidates Are On The Field

The deadline has passed to submit nomination petitions for the 2022 primary election season. Ninety-one (91) candidates successfully completed the process and now, as they say, the players are on the field.

There are 35 candidates for United States Senate, Governor and Lieutenant Governor and 10 list residence in Montgomery County. There are eight from Allegheny County, four Philadelphia Countians and three from Cumberland County. There are 10 other counties represented by one candidate.
U.S. Senate

Democrats: There are five (5) candidates for the open seat vacated by the retiring Pat Toomey. Kevin Baumlin (Philadelphia, Philadelphia County); current Lieutenant Governor John Fetterman (Braddock, Allegheny); Malcolm Kenyatta (Philadelphia); Alexandria Khalil (Jenkintown, Montgomery); and Conor Lamb (Mt. Lebanon, Allegheny). 

Republicans: There are seven (7) candidates on the GOP side. Kathy Barnette (Lower Moreland, Montgomery); Jeff Bartos (Lower Merion Twp., Montgomery); George Bochetto (Philadelphia); Sean Gale (Plymouth Twp., Montgomery); David McCormick (Pittsburgh, Allegheny); Mehmet Oz (Bryn Athyn, Montgomery); Carla Sands (Wormleysburg, Cumberland).

Democrat: Attorney General Josh Shapiro (Abington Twp., Montgomery) is the lone Democrat to submit nomination petitions and should now officially be considered the presumptive choice for the party in the fall election.

Republicans: There are 10 candidates for the governor’s mansion to replace term-limited Tom Wolf. Lou Barletta (Hazleton, Luzerne); Jake Corman (Bellefonte, Centre); Joe Gale (Plymouth Twp., Montgomery); Charlie Gerow (Hampden Twp., Cumberland); Melissa Hart (Bradford Woods, Allegheny); Doug Mastriano (Greene Twp., Franklin); Bill McSwain (West Chester, Chester); Jason Richey (Sewickley Heights, Allegheny); David White (Ridley Twp., Delaware); Nche Zama (Wind Gap, Northampton).

Lieutenant Governor

Democrats: There are three (3) candidates for the lieutenant governor nomination. Austin Davis (McKeesport, Allegheny); Brian Sims (Philadelphia); Ray Sosa (Cheltenham Twp., Montgomery).

Republicans: There are nine (9) GOP candidates for the position. John Brown (Bangor, Northampton); Jeff Coleman (Lemoyne, Cumberland); Teddy Daniels (Lake Twp., Wayne); Carrie Delrosso (Oakmont, Allegheny); Russ Diamond (Annville Twp., Lebanon); Chris Frye Jr. (New Castle, Lawrence); James Jones (Hatboro, Montgomery); Rick Saccone (Elizabeth Twp., Allegheny); Clarice Schillinger (Horsham, Montgomery).

There are 56 candidates for a seat in Congress from Pennsylvania. 

Fifteen incumbents – eight Republicans and seven Democrats – are running for another term. Four GOP incumbents face primary challenges, while two Democrats have primary opponents. There are two open seats – the newly drawn 12th District and the 17th District.

14th District incumbent Guy Reschenthaler (R-Washington) does not have a registered opponent and, without an independent or write-in challenge, appears to be headed back for a third term.

1st Congressional District

Democrat: Ashley Ehasz (Bensalem Twp., Bucks) 

Republicans: Incumbent Brian Fitzpatrick (Middletown, Bucks) faces four primary challengers – Caroline Avery (Bristol Twp., Bucks), Alex Entin (Northampton, Bucks), Brad Lanning (Hilltown Twp., Bucks) and Dasha Pruett (Upper Darby, Delaware).

2nd Congressional District

Democrats: Incumbent Brendan Boyle (Philadelphia) faces a primary challenge from Gilberto Gonzalez (Philadelphia).

Republican: Haroon Bashir (Philadelphia)

3rd Congressional District

Democrats: Incumbent Dwight Evans (Philadelphia) faces a primary challenge from Michael Cogbill (Philadelphia), Alexandra Hunt (Philadelphia) and Melvin Johnakin (Philadelphia).

Republican: none.

4th Congressional District

Democrat: Incumbent Madeleine Dean Cunnane (Lower Merion Twp., Montgomery)

Republicans: Dan Burton Jr. (East Cocalico, Lancaster) and Christian Nascimento (Lower Providence, Montgomery) will face off in the primary.

5th Congressional District

Democrats: Incumbent Mary Gay Scanlon (Swarthmore, Delaware) faces a primary challenger in Louis Lanni Jr. (Folcroft, Delaware).

Republican: David Galluch (Newtown Twp., Delaware)

6th Congressional District

Democrat: Incumbent Chrissy Houlahan (Easttown Twp., Chester)

Republicans: Four candidates have filed to get on the GOP primary ballot – Guy Ciarrocchi (Tredyffrin, Chester), Steve Fanelli (West Chester, Chester), Regina Mauro (Tredyffrin, Chester) and Ron Vogel (Charlestown Twp., Chester).

7th Congressional District

Democrat: Incumbent Susan Wild (South Whitehall, Lehigh)

Republicans: Kevin Dellicker (Heidelberg Twp., Lehigh) and Lisa Scheller (Allentown, Lehigh) will square off in the primary.

8th Congressional District

Democrat: Incumbent Matt Cartwright (Moosic, Lackawanna)

Republicans: Jim Bognet (Hazle Twp., Luzerne) and Mike Marsicano (Hazle Twp., Luzerne) will face each other in the GOP primary.

9th Congressional District

Democrat: Amanda Waldman (Mill Creek Twp., Lycoming)

Republican: Incumbent Dan Meuser (Jackson Twp., Luzerne)

10th Congressional District

Democrats: Rick Coplen (Dickinson Twp., Cumberland) and Shamaine Daniels (N/A, Dauphin)

Republican: Incumbent Scott Perry (Carroll Twp., York)

11th Congressional District

Democrat: Bob Hollister (East Lampeter Twp., Lancaster)

Republican: Incumbent Lloyd Smucker (West Lampeter Twp., Lancaster)

12th Congressional District

Democrats: Jerry Dickinson (Swissvale, Allegheny), Steve Irwin (Pittsburgh, Allegheny), Summer Lee (Swissvale, Allegheny), William Parker (Pittsburgh, Allegheny) and Jeffrey Woodard (Pittsburgh, Allegheny)

Republican: Michael Doyle (Plum, Allegheny)

13th Congressional District

Republicans: Incumbent John Joyce (Frankstown, Blair) and Jeffrey Manns (Cumberland Twp., Adams) will meet in the primary.

14th Congressional District

Republican: Incumbent Guy Reschenthaler (Peters Twp., Washington)

15th Congressional District

Republicans: Incumbent Glenn Thompson Jr., (Howard Twp., Centre) faces a primary challenge from George Rathmell (Punxsutawney, Jefferson).

16th Congressional District

Democrats: Dan Pastore (Fairview, Erie) and Rick Telesz (Washington Twp., Lawrence)

Republican: Incumbent George “Mike” Kelly Jr., (N/A, Butler)

17th Congressional District

Democrats: Chris Deluzio (Pittsburgh, Allegheny) and Sean Meloy (Pittsburgh, Allegheny) square off in the primary.

Republicans: Kathleen Coder (Ben Avon, Allegheny), Jason Killmeyer (Pittsburgh, Allegheny) and Jeremy Shaffer (Pine Twp., Allegheny) will meet in the primary.

5 Responses

  1. All I can say is if you love your Country and your State, do your research! Research, research and research some more! Check out their bios, their backgrounds, their platforms and LISTEN to what they are saying to discern a dirty democrat and a RHINO. It’s a lot of work, but in light of the 2020 elections this is a MUST! Choose your candidate wisely!

  2. I do agree its clear that Scott Perry along with other GOP politicians, who claim the GOP as their political party. However, there actions have shown to be democracy deniers. Who have lied, and supported a traitor who tried to steal the US POTUS platform. Serious sedition when down and Scott Perry, along with Doug Mastriano, and Mike Kelly…3 US.Congressmen who put party over country. icjr

    1. Nice to see the usual and customary leftist fascists on parade today. Sharpening their knives to march their political opponents off to their gulags

  • Reader Poll: Should President Joe Biden Step Aside?

    • Yes. He should step aside because of his age, declining ability to do the job. (45%)
    • No. He should not step aside. (39%)
    • Yes. He should step aside because he can't beat Donald Trump. (15%)

    Total Voters: 231

    Loading ... Loading ...
Continue to Browser


To install tap and choose
Add to Home Screen